Beta Features/Hovercards/ja

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to navigation Jump to search
This page is a translated version of the page Page Previews and the translation is 76% complete.

Outdated translations are marked like this.
Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎español • ‎日本語 • ‎polski • ‎português • ‎português do Brasil • ‎سنڌي • ‎中文

ホバーカードHovercardsというベータ版拡張機能は別名「ページプリビュー」Page Previewsとも呼ばれ、ある内容を読みながら単語や概念の意味を調べるときに、いくつもタブを開くしかなくなるという、ユーザーが直面する問題のひとつを解決します。読者が他の記事へのリンクにマウスポインタを当てると、ホバーカードがリンク先の内容の要約と画像(存在する場合)を表示します。その時点でリンク先へ飛んで熟読するか、元の記事を読み進めるかどうか決めやすくなります。機能の詳細はこちらをご参照ください。

はじめに

ホバーカードはリンクへ飛ぶ時間の無駄を省き、あるいは読者が元の話題から離れることなく学習するチャンスを得るように設計されました。読んでいる内容の把握や、知らない単語、ものごと、できごと、発想を手早く調べることができます。ホバーカードのユーザーには記事の概要があらかじめわかるため、記事を読みながら別のページへ飛ぶかどうか決めるのに役立ちます。途中で知らない概念にぶつかっても、記事を1本読了する楽しみが中断したり他のページに気を取られることもありません。ページにとどまったまま、その場で概念のチラ見ができるのです。この場合、ユーザーの体験はますますスムーズになります。

同様の拡張機能は数年前から要望が多く(一覧)、問題の解決によく使われているガジェットもあります(編集作業を重視したナビゲーション・ポップアップ)。ホバーカードの開発は2014年にベータ版拡張機能として始まり、利用者の人気とフィードバックが最も高く使用感の差が最も大きいとされています。ホバーカード専門のトークページではプロジェクト全体にわたるいくつもの問題点が集まり、この2年以上をかけて改良を続けて来ました。モバイル版のホバーカード同等の機能はAndroid appとして2015年9月に実装、ページ単位でリンクのクリック件数を20%引き上げる効果をもたらしています。

ログインしていない匿名利用者もホバーカードの設定パネルを操作して、有効か無効か切り替えができます。ログイン利用者はベータ版設定から切り替えてください。ただし、ナビゲーション・ポップアップ表示を有効にしたままホバーカードを使おうとすると(ベータ版機能として有効にしてあるログイン利用者の場合にありがち)、このポップアップ表示が優先されます。そこでホバーカードの使用中は、このポップアップ表示を無効にします。

ホバーカードの表示例

デザイン

ホバーカードの現状の繰り返し処理ではホバーカード1件に以下の要素を表示します。

  • 記事の最初の段落の一部
  • 記事に載った画像1件(ある場合)。画像表示は記事内のリンクの位置により、縦もしくは横に表示します。
  • 歯車アイコンでホバーカードの表示非表示を切り替え


ナビゲーション・ポップアップとの主要な違い

  • ナビゲーション・ポップアップは熟練したユーザー向けでさいとのユーザーには無用の機能を多く備えています。
  • ホバーカードは読みやすさを優先したスタイルです。現状のナビゲーション・ポップアップでは文字は小さく行間も狭いのです。
  • ホバーカードはログインの有無に関係なく利用できます。
  • 記事同様の扱いにより、表示のスタイルに落差がありません。
  • リード部分の画像を強調してあり、ユーザーには用語の意味が文字と画像の両方から理解できます。
  • ガジェットは使い方が状況と適合せず、そてぞれの操作が読者と編集者のどちらに特化しているか検証が必要です。
  • ウィキペディアのモバイルウェブ版でテストした、最終編集のタイムスタンプが表示されます。

HTML Previews

As of March 1st, 2018, page previews now display previews in HTML. This resolves many outstanding bugs, provides correct representation of mathematical, chemical and other formulas, and ensures previews display the same formatting as the article content.

設定

有効/無効の切り替え

匿名ユーザー(ログインしない)

匿名ユーザーがホバーカードを無効にするには、ホバーカードの下辺にある歯車のアイコンを操作します。有効に再設定するには、どのウィキページにも最下部にある「Enable previews」のリンクを操作します。


ログイン利用者

ログイン利用者がホバーカードの有効無効を切り替えるには、現状ではベータ版のページで操作してください。この拡張機能が実装されると、ログイン利用者は設定を2カ所でできるようになる予定で、歯車の設定アイコンまたは詳細設定のページで操作することになります。

  • 歯車の設定アイコンを選ぶと、システムにより詳細設定ページへ遷移します。

成功の評価基準と機能の評価法

ホバーカードの機能を質的かつ量的にテストして、性能を評価しました。テストの目的を以下に示します。

  • ユーザーに使いやすく便利な機能か?
  • ホバーカードを使うと読む行為はどう変わり、ユーザーが読みたい記事を的確に選ぶ助けになるか?
  • この機能を実装すると資金集めに影響があるか?

2015年のテスト : カタラン語とギリシャ語

4カ月をかけてギリシャ語とカタラン語で機能テストを行いました。問題点とバグが多数報告され、合わせてアンケート形式でユーザーの満足度を計測しました。ユーザーの反響はおおむね好意的で、大部分の人からホバーカードは便利で使い方がわかりやすく、使って楽しいと回答しています。

テスト結果の全文はこちら

2016年の品質テスト

ホバーカードの機能に関するユーザーの受け止め方を調べ、読者の反応の変化を追うためにUserZoomツールを採用した非監視の遠隔パネル調査を実施しました。被験者の大部分はホバーカードの機能に好意的な反響でした。さらに、被験者の大部分はホバーカード表示非表示の機能を問題なく使えました。ユーザーからはそのほか、概して肯定的な言葉で機能を語り、読む体験を妨げないと報告しています。

テスト結果の全文と分析はこちら

2016年のA/Bテスト : ウィキペディアのハンガリー語版、イタリア語版、ロシア語版

読む行為の変化およびホバーカードのベータ版の機能の完成度を調べるため、合計3回のA/Bテストをハンガリー語版は2016年の6月7日、イタリア語版とロシア語版は同年9月23日にそれぞれ実施しました。

From the results of these tests, we can conclude that Page Previews facilitate positive changes in reading behavior by increasing the precision with which users select the pages they read, reducing the cost of exploration of other pages, and allowing users to selectively focus on a single topic by providing context within a page.

テスト結果の全文と分析はこちら

2017年のA/Bテスト : ウィキペディアの英語版とドイツ語版

From October to November 2017 and December 2017 to February 2018, we ran two A/B tests to gauge the performance of the feature prior to release on these projects. The results, described in more detail in the report, displayed a decrease in pageviews, but an overall increase in the number of pages readers interact with, indicating that they are more likely to explore a larger variety of topics when the feature is on. We also noted decreased usage of the back button and very low rates of disabling the feature. In addition, we ran a number of fundraising tests on enwiki.

Improvements since English Wikipedia discussion from April 2016

During the discussion from April 2016, a number of bugs, improvements, and other requests were identified which we have addressed in the following ways:

Previews “getting stuck” in the open position

  • We have since refactored our code and this is no longer an issue

Bolded text and mathematical formulas not appearing within the preview

  • Currently, previews display in html and content is true to the article content

A means to disable the feature from the card itself

  • Logged-in and logged-out users can now disable the feature by selecting the settings gear within the card itself.

A means to make sure page previews do not interfere with navigational popups

  • Logged-in users may either have navigational popups or page previews. If you’re a navpopups user, you will not be able to enable page previews unless you turn off navpopups first, and vice versa

Providing more thorough research and A/B test results, performing a large-scale A/B test on English Wikipedia

  • Since the discussion, we have performed two series of A/B tests, the first on Hungarian, Russian, and Italian Wikipedias. And the second on English and German Wikipedias.

Limiting performance impact

  • We have worked with our performance team to minimize any issues page previews. A dashboard with detailed information on feature performance was created.

Providing a way to enable the feature for anonymous users only

  • This is ready as well. As of March 2018, the feature is enabled by default for anonymous users on all Wikipedias except English and German

Providing data on how often users disable the feature

  • For both of our A/B tests, the disable rate was less than 0.01%. Because the rate was so low, we also did a qualitative test to confirm that users did not have problems enabling or disabling the feature. Our conclusion is that people know how to turn the feature off without difficulty, but do so at extremely low rates

Providing information on whether the feature was considered a nuisance

  • Based on our qualitative testing, we concluded that tested users did not find the feature distracting, or a nuisance.

対象から除外したページ

セキュリティ上の観点から、特定のページではホバーカードを読みこまない設定にしてあります。これらのページを内部で「ブラックリスト」と呼び、当初の一覧は右記で公開しています。タスク T170893

今後の繰り返し作業と改善点

Upon success of an initial launch of Hovercards, we are planning on iterating on the feature to add functionality. These items will include:

  • Configuration of images and other settings:
    • a number of users have requested making images configurable within Hovercards. We're marking this feature for future implementation and tracking it in https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T148995
    • other logged out preferences (more info here)
  • Article titles - currently, only the summary of the article is available within Hovercards. As an iteration, we would like to display the title of each article along with its summary
  • Reference Tooltips (phab:T67114)
  • ウィキ間ホバーカード(phab:T67117)。ウィクショナリーに特化した下位節のリンクの扱い(phab:T65792)
  • ナビゲーション・ポップアップと統合 - ナビゲーション・ポップアップで将来的に構想している機能も、ホバーカードの構成を拡張すると追加できる。
  • ホバーカード内の文章の利用 - ホバーカードに載った文章を利用したいという要望は多く、例えばコピペ、あるいは文章をフォームや記事の概要に書き出したりできるとよいという声があった。詳細はこちらphab: T146097
  • ウィクショナリーの項目と統合し、マウスを当てると言葉の意味を表示。

よくある質問

ホバーカードの魅力は?

この機能はウィキペディアの読者向けで、青字リンクの内容(意味)を見るためにわざわざリンク先のページを開いた経験のある人なら、誰でも便利に使えます。

ホバーカードの便利さはどう数値化できる?

ホバーカードはリンクを開くためのコストを下げるという発想に基づいて影響度を把握します。これは言い換えるなら、ユーザーは負担を感じずにリンクを開けるかどうかということです。つまりマウスを(無意識ではなく)当てて内容を閲覧したリンクの数が、実際にリンクをクリックした件数より多くなれば、ホバーカードが成功したと言えるはずです。反対に、失敗を示す指標として以下に注目していきます。

  • マウスを当てるホバーが偶然ではないかどうか - 一定条件でホバーの滞留時間を計測し、マウスをリンクに当てたのが偶然だったという割合が高くないと確認する必要があります。一例としてリンクにマウスを当ててからホバーカードが表示されるまでの滞留時間の設定を250ミリ秒にするなら、特定のリンクにマウスを当てたユーザーで、250ミリ秒以上滞留してからクリックする率は低いと確認しなければならないのです。
  • ホバーカードを利用するとページビューが減る可能性があります。ユーザーはプリビューすれば、知りたい情報がわかるからで、それ自体は問題になりません。ただし(もし)閲覧数が減少したなら、編集件数や寄付件数に目立った影響が出ないように注視する必要があります。
  • リンクをホバーしたユーザーが実際にリンク先を開くのは高確率(%)- このことからその人たちは本来、リンク先を訪問する意思があったと推定されます。もしそうであれば、ホバーカードは不用な手間になりかねません。マウスを当ててからクリックスルーに至る確率(%)に基準を設けます。Androidでは同様の機能は60%以下ですが、デスクトップ版ではもっと低いと予測しています。
  • the percentage of users who disable Hovercards is low (given that users are aware on how to disable the feature) - this suggests that users enjoy the feature.
What if I have Navpops enabled by default?

If you have Navpops enabled, Hovercards are automatically disabled. You will have to disable Navpops in order to experience Hovercards. This is an intentional decision to ensure that Navpop users' do not have their preferences interrupted. Note: for certain browsers, you might have to clear your browser cache first for the change to take place.

How many options do I have in Hovercards preferences?

Right now, Hovercards will either be turned on or off by a user. The option to turn them off lives in each hover event. So at each hover event, a user can decide that they are no longer interested. For logged-in users, Hovercards may be re-enabled from user settings. For logged-out users, Hovercards may be enabled by selecting the "Enable Previews" link at the bottom of the page.

At the project level, administrators can determine how long a user should dwell on a link before a hover is triggered. If a project wants to be conservative, the lag can be longer. WMF will have a recommendation as to optimum dwell time that provides the best user experience while minimizing accidental hovers.

Why can't users just turn on Page Previews if they want them?

Unfortunately, there is no good way to tell users about a new feature without showing it to them first. Central notice banners have been suggested, but running them for 2 weeks would not solve the needs of future users and we do not want to run them continuously. Notifying a user of a new feature is best done using a...hover-over.

What impact to Page Previews have on page views?

According to A/B tests we did not see a large decrease in session depth across all Wikipedias. Average session depth (average number of pages viewed per session) remained relatively equal between the Hovercards on and off groups.

What about accessibility?

Page Previews only activate when the focus/hover state occurs over a link. They are usable for people who use keyboard navigation. For screenreades, Page Previews have proper WAI-ARIA semantics declaring them as tooltips. In short, screenreader software ignore Page Previews.

If I have Page Previews feedback or if I have a suggestion for making them better, where should I go?

Please go to the Page Previews discussion page.

コード

解析と計装
  • ホバーカードは現状ではさまざまな利用法の要素を計測する機能を与えられています。詳細は the popups extension page(ポップアップの拡張機能ページ)を参照、ご不明の点はお気軽に質問をお願いします。

プロジェクト単位の実装の議論

Rollout Update April 2018

The next step of rollout for English and German Wikipedias is planned for the first half of April 2018. This deployment will include turning the feature on by default for logged-out users.  This will mean no changes for logged-in users. The feature will be off by default for logged-in editors, unless currently enabled. If you would like to enable it, it is available in your Preferences under “Appearance”. If you have the feature enabled already, it will stay on.  

In terms of future changes for logged-in users, we have a few options we will be requesting feedback on:

  • Keep the feature off by default for logged-in users.  
  • Turn the feature on by default for new accounts only. Currently, when users move from being readers to contributors and create an account, the feature will seem to vanish, and that would be confusing.  As a further step in the feature rollout, we plan to change this configuration and enable the feature for all new accounts.
  • Turn the feature on by default for existing logged-in users (Even if it were enabled for everyone, it would still be automatically suppressed for anyone who uses NAVPOPS.)

実装の計画

We would like to begin rolling out to 実装は2017年初頭にカタロニア語、ギリシャ語、ハンガリー語、ロシア語版で行いたいと考えています。A/Bテストの結果はたいへん高評価でした。その後、以下の表に示す通り、他のウィキペディア群にも段階的に実装したいと考えています。

言語
コード
言語 段階 お試し
期間
合格 日付
ca カタラン語 0 [1] 2018年3月
el ギリシャ語 0 [2] 3月
it イタリア語 0 [3] 3月
he ヘブライ語版 0 [4] 3月
hu ハンガリー語版 1 [5][6] 2017年3月
- 上位6言語版を除くウィキペディアの全ての言語版 1 [7] 2017年7月
ja 日本語版 1 [8] 2017年8月
es スペイン語版 1 [9] 2017年8月
fr フランス語版 1 [10] [11] 2017年8月
de ドイツ語版 2 TBD
en 英語版 2 TBD

導入前のお試し期間

この機能の導入前のお試し期間は、ホバーカードの扱いをコミュニティ単位で同意して決めます。既定で導入するのか、導入前のお試し期間を設けて採用の否決ができるようにするのか選んでください。英語版で始まった議論は継続中です。詳細は以下をご参照ください。https://en.Wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Village_pump_(proposals)/Archive_131#Proposal:_Enable_Hovercards_by_default|Proposal: Enable Hovercards by default - ホバーカードを既定で有効にするかどうか

関連項目

脚注