Beta Features/Hovercards/ja

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to: navigation, search
This page is a translated version of the page Page Previews and the translation is 84% complete.

Other languages:
English • ‎日本語 • ‎polski • ‎português • ‎português do Brasil • ‎سنڌي • ‎中文

ホバーカードHovercardsというベータ版拡張機能は別名「ページプリビュー」Page Previewsとも呼ばれ、ある内容を読みながら単語や概念の意味を調べるときに、いくつもタブを開くしかなくなるという、ユーザーが直面する問題のひとつを解決します。読者が他の記事へのリンクにマウスポインタを当てると、ホバーカードがリンク先の内容の要約と画像(存在する場合)を表示します。その時点でリンク先へ飛んで熟読するか、元の記事を読み進めるかどうか決めやすくなります。機能の詳細はこちらをご参照ください。


はじめに

ホバーカードはリンクへ飛ぶ時間の無駄を省き、あるいは読者が元の話題から離れることなく学習するチャンスを得るように設計されました。読んでいる内容の把握や、知らない単語、ものごと、できごと、発想を手早く調べることができます。ホバーカードのユーザーには記事の概要があらかじめわかるため、記事を読みながら別のページへ飛ぶかどうか決めるのに役立ちます。途中で知らない概念にぶつかっても、記事を1本読了する楽しみが中断したり他のページに気を取られることもありません。ページにとどまったまま、その場で概念のチラ見ができるのです。この場合、ユーザーの体験はますますスムーズになります。

同様の拡張機能は数年前から要望が多く(一覧)、問題の解決によく使われているガジェットもあります(編集作業を重視したナビゲーション・ポップアップ)。ホバーカードの開発は2014年にベータ版拡張機能として始まり、利用者の人気とフィードバックが最も高く使用感の差が最も大きいとされています。ホバーカード専門のトークページではプロジェクト全体にわたるいくつもの問題点が集まり、この2年以上をかけて改良を続けて来ました。モバイル版のホバーカード同等の機能はAndroid appとして2015年9月に実装、ページ単位でリンクのクリック件数を20%引き上げる効果をもたらしています。

ログインしていない匿名利用者もホバーカードの設定パネルを操作して、有効か無効か切り替えができます。ログイン利用者はベータ版設定から切り替えてください。ただし、ナビゲーション・ポップアップ表示を有効にしたままホバーカードを使おうとすると(ベータ版機能として有効にしてあるログイン利用者の場合にありがち)、このポップアップ表示が優先されます。そこでホバーカードの使用中は、このポップアップ表示を無効にします。

ホバーカードの表示例


デザイン

For the current iteration of Hovercards, each hovercard will contain the following:

  • A portion of the first paragraph from the article
  • An image (if available) from the article. Images will appear horizontal or vertical depending on the location of the link within the article.
  • A settings cog which will allow users to turn Hovercards on and off



ナビゲーション・ポップアップとの主要な違い

  • Navigation popups are for power users and has many features that are not relevant to most site users.
  • Hovercards is styled to enable easy reading. Currently, Navpop-ups' type-size is small and the margins are tight.
  • Hovercards will be available to all users, not just logged-in users
  • Create a consistent visual style with the article type treatment.
  • Emphasize the lead images, so a user gets an idea of a term using both text and image.
  • The action set in the gadget feels out of context, hence we need to validate which of those actions are useful for readers and editors.
  • Include the last edited timestamp that we have tested on Wikipedia mobile web.


名称変更を予定

ホバーカードという名称はベータ版で採用したものです。名前のわかりやすさの問題(パッと見で何をする機能かわかりにくい)から、安定版に達した時点で「ページ・プリビュー」に改称する予定です。これは量的試験を行った時にユーザーがこの機能を指して使った名前から発想しています。


設定

有効/無効の切り替え

匿名ユーザー(ログインしない)

匿名ユーザーがホバーカードを無効にするには、ホバーカードの下辺にあるネジのアイコンを操作します。有効に再設定するには、どのウィキページにも最下部にある「Enable previews」のリンクを操作します。


ログイン利用者

ログイン利用者がホバーカードの有効無効を切り替えるには、現状ではベータ版のページで操作してください。この拡張機能が実装されると、ログイン利用者は設定を2カ所でできるようになる予定で、ネジの設定アイコンまたは詳細設定のページで操作することになります。

  • ネジの設定アイコンを選ぶと、システムにより詳細設定ページへ遷移します。


小窓の開閉のタイミング調整

Logged-in users can change the timing of how fast Hovercards appear and disappear (open/close delay). See Extension:Popups#Show/hide timing for instructions.


合格の評価基準と機能の評価法

ホバーカードの機能をテストする質的かつ量的に試験を行い、性能を評価しました。テストの目的を以下に示します。

  • ユーザーに使いやすく便利な機能か?
  • ホバーカードを使うと読む行為はどう変わり、ユーザーが読みたい記事を的確に選ぶ助けになるか?
  • この機能を実装すると資金集めに影響があるか?


2015年のテスト : カタラン語とギリシャ語

4カ月をかけてギリシャ語とカタラン語で機能テストを行いました。問題点とバグが多数報告され、合わせてアンケート形式でユーザーの満足度を計測しました。ユーザーの反響はおおむね好意的で、大部分の人からホバーカードは便利で使い方がわかりやすく、使って楽しいと回答しています。

テスト結果の全文はこちら


2016年の品質テスト

To determine user attitudes towards the Hovercards feature and trace further changes in reader behavior, an unmoderated remote panel study was performed using UserZoom software. The majority of participants reported positive attitudes to the Hovercards feature. In addition, the majority of participants had no issues in turning the feature on and off. Users also described the feature in generally positive terms and reported it was not distracting to their reading experience.

テスト結果の全文と分析はこちら


2016年のA/Bテスト : ウィキペディアのハンガリー語版、イタリア語版、ロシア語版

To determine changes in reading behavior and evaluate the success of the Hovercards beta feature, three A/B tests were launched on Hungarian, Italian, and Russian Wikipedias. The A/B test on Hungarian was launched June 7, 2016, the A/B tests on Italian and Russian were launched Sept 23, 2016.

From the results of these tests, we can conclude that Hovercards facilitate positive changes in reading behavior by increasing the precision with which users select the pages they read, reducing the cost of exploration of other pages, and allowing users to selectively focus on a single topic by providing context within a page.

テスト結果の全文と分析はこちら

2017年のA/Bテスト : ウィキペディアの英語版とドイツ語版

On August 28, 2017, we launched an A/B test to gauge the performance of the feature prior to release on these projects. The tests will run for two weeks simultaneously as a number of fundraising tests on enwiki.

対象から除外したページ

セキュリティ上の観点から、特定のページではホバーカードを読みこまない設定にしてあります。これらのページを内部で「ブラックリスト」と呼び、当初の一覧は右記で公開しています。タスク T170893

今後の繰り返し作業と改善点

Upon success of an initial launch of Hovercards, we are planning on iterating on the feature to add functionality. These items will include:

  • Configuration of images and other settings:
    • a number of users have requested making images configurable within Hovercards. We're marking this feature for future implementation and tracking it in https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T148995
    • other logged out preferences (more info here)
  • Article titles - currently, only the summary of the article is available within Hovercards. As an iteration, we would like to display the title of each article along with its summary
  • Reference Tooltips (phab:T67114)
  • ウィキ間ホバーカード(phab:T67117)。ウィクショナリーに特化した下位節のリンクの扱い(phab:T65792)
  • ナビゲーション・ポップアップと統合 - ナビゲーション・ポップアップで将来的に構想している機能も、ホバーカードの構成を拡張すると追加できる。
  • ホバーカード内の文章の利用 - ホバーカードに載った文章を利用したいという要望は多く、例えばコピペ、あるいは文章をフォームや記事の概要に書き出したりできるとよいという声があった。詳細はこちらphab: T146097
  • ウィクショナリーの項目と統合し、マウスを当てると言葉の意味を表示。


よくある質問

Why Hovercards?

This is a feature intended to improve the experience for any reader who normally would have clicked on a blue-link in Wikipedia because they needed an overview (definition) of that entity.

How do we measure Hovercards performance?

The theory of impact for Hovercards is that they lower the cost of exploring a link. This should mean that users are less inhibited and more focused when exploring links. We should see that the overall links clicked + (non-accidental) hovers exceed the number of links clicked without Hovercards. This is what success looks like. There are also some indications of failure that we will look for:

  • hovers can be accidental - we need to measure normal dwell time in a controlled condition to ensure that the likely rate of accidental hovers is not too high. To give an example, if a user must dwell on a link for 250 msecs before a hover shows, then we would want to make sure that there are not a large number of users who tend to dwell on a link for more than 250 msecs without clicking it.
  • Hovercards could lead to fewer pageviews, because the user gets the information that they need from the preview- this is not a problem, but we want to make sure that the decrease (if any) does not result in significantly less editing or fundraising.
  • the % of hovers that result in a user continuing to the page is high - this would suggest that most people wanted to go to the page anyway. If this is the case, then the hover is likely just adding an unnecessary step. We expect some significant % of click throughs for hovers. It is ~60% on Android for a similar feature, but we expect it to be lower on desktop.
  • the percentage of users who disable Hovercards is low (given that users are aware on how to disable the feature) - this suggests that users enjoy the feature.
What if I have Navpops enabled by default?

If you have Navpops enabled, Hovercards are automatically disabled. You will have to disable Navpops in order to experience Hovercards. This is an intentional decision to ensure that Navpop users' do not have their preferences interrupted. Note: for certain browsers, you might have to clear your browser cache first for the change to take place.

How many options do I have in Hovercards preferences?

Right now, Hovercards will either be turned on or off by a user. The option to turn them off lives in each hover event. So at each hover event, a user can decide that they are no longer interested. For logged-in users, Hovercards may be re-enabled from user settings. For logged-out users, Hovercards may be enabled by selecting the "Enable Previews" link at the bottom of the page.

At the project level, administrators can determine how long a user should dwell on a link before a hover is triggered. If a project wants to be conservative, the lag can be longer. WMF will have a recommendation as to optimum dwell time that provides the best user experience while minimizing accidental hovers.

Why can't users just turn on Hovercards if they want them?

Unfortunately, there is no good way to tell users about a new feature without showing it to them first. Central notice banners have been suggested, but running them for 2 weeks would not solve the needs of future users and we do not want to run them continuously. Notifying a user of a new feature is best done using a...hover-over. So that is why we are planning to show an initial hover on the users first hover event, followed by an explanation of what the user has seen. They can choose to turn them off in that dialogue.

If I have Hovercards feedback or if I have a suggestion for making them better, where should I go?

Please go to the Hovercards discussion page, here: Talk:Beta Features/Hovercards


コード

解析と計装
  • ホバーカードは現状ではさまざまな利用法の要素を計測する機能を与えられています。詳細は the popups extension page(ポップアップの拡張機能ページ)を参照、ご不明の点はお気軽に質問をお願いします。


プロジェクト単位の実装の議論

実装の計画

We would like to begin rolling out to 実装は2017年初頭にカタロニア語、ギリシャ語、ハンガリー語、ロシア語版で行いたいと考えています。A/Bテストの結果はたいへん高評価でした。その後、以下の表に示す通り、他のウィキペディア群にも段階的に実装したいと考えています。

言語
コード
言語 段階 お試し
期間
合格 日付
ca カタラン語 0 [1] 2018年3月
el ギリシャ語 0 [2] 3月
it イタリア語 0 [3] 3月
he ヘブライ語版 0 [4] 3月
hu ハンガリー語版 1 [5][6] 2017年3月
- 上位6言語版を除くウィキペディアの全ての言語版 1 [7] 2017年7月
ja 日本語版 1 [8] 2017年8月
es スペイン語版 1 [9] 2017年8月
fr フランス語版 1 [10] [11] 2017年8月
de ドイツ語版 2 TBD
en 英語版 2 TBD

導入前のお試し期間

この機能の導入前のお試し期間は、ホバーカードの扱いをコミュニティ単位で同意して決めます。既定で導入するのか、導入前のお試し期間を設けて採用の否決ができるようにするのか選んでください。英語版で始まった議論は継続中です。詳細は以下をご参照ください。https://en.Wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Village_pump_(proposals)/Archive_131#Proposal:_Enable_Hovercards_by_default|Proposal: Enable Hovercards by default - ホバーカードを既定で有効にするかどうか


関連項目


脚注