Talk:Page Previews

Jump to: navigation, search

About this board

Page Previews solves the core problem of users opening multiple tabs to gain an understanding of a word in the context of the subject they are reading. Whenever a reader hovers over a link to another article, a short summary of the subject, including its graphical image, is provided to them so they can decide whether they need to visit that subject more fully before continuing the current subject.

Please give us feedback on your experience using this feature so we can change and improve it. Each language is welcome in this discussion!

You can read more about the feature here.

Known Issues

Help, how do I turn this horrible feature off?

6
Summary by Quiddity (WMF)
2601:1C2:1A80:12F0:3D9E:CD06:AB33:8998 (talkcontribs)

Simple, please. Only explanation I can find have to do with editing javascript or whatever.

This is a horrible "feature" I do NOT want.

ABaso (WMF) (talkcontribs)

Hello. Thanks for checking. To disable Page Previews, please try one of the following methods:

Method 1: When a preview displays, click the settings "cog". Then click the radio button labeled "Disable". Then click the button labeled "Save".

Method 2: If you are logged in, you may need to use this method. In the top of the page, click on the link labeled "Preferences". Then click on the tab labeled "Appearance". Under "Reading preferences", where it says "Get quick previews of a topic while reading a page", click on the radio button labeled "Disable". Scroll down and click the button labeled "Save".

2601:1C2:1A80:12F0:21F6:9401:E8ED:4CE (talkcontribs)

Thanks for your reply, ABaso.

I'm the anon OP. I may create an account, but even without one I've been a Wikipedia user, contributer, and cash supporter for years.

With method 1, without an account, how would I turn it back on? (since the gear icon is within the popup)

Meanwhile, I found an extension that works nicely: "Quick Javascript Switcher" which does domain level JS on/off.

Another workaround is to add the .m prefix to URL to load the mobile page.

TheDJ (talkcontribs)

> With method 1, without an account, how would I turn it back on? (since the gear icon is within the popup)

There will be a link at the bottom of the page, as described here: Page_Previews#Logged_Out_Users.

TheDJ (talkcontribs)

Or diasable all your javascript.

2601:1C2:1A80:12F0:21F6:9401:E8ED:4CE (talkcontribs)

I found "Quick Javascript Switcher" browser extension works nicely. It does domain level JS on/off.

Another workaround is to put the .m prefix to load the mobile page.

Reply to "Help, how do I turn this horrible feature off?"

Brackets containing IPA are not properly displayed

3
Summary by SUM1

Discovered the issue was a missing closing bracket, not an issue with hovercard.

Edit 17 April 2018: rediscovered that there is in fact an issue with the displaying of brackets containing IPA. Detailed below.

SUM1 (talkcontribs)

As I understand, it is hovercard's policy to remove bracketed content in link previews (which is a good thing). Well, it is failing to do this when the IPA template is used within brackets. It seems to end the omission at the end of the IPA template rather than at the closed brackets. As you can see in the example below, it correctly omits the next set of bracketed content after the first failed omission.

Example: pagelink preview

SUM1 (talkcontribs)

Update 17 April 2018: I have discovered that there is in fact a problem with brackets containing IPA being displayed in link previews. The problem seems to follow the exact same logic as described in my original post above.

Example: pagelink preview

@CKoerner (WMF)

CKoerner (WMF) (talkcontribs)

@SUM1 I wanted to let you know I saw this and have reported it to the project manager. We're looking into it. I'll let you know what I find out.

Reply to "Brackets containing IPA are not properly displayed"

How can page previews be turned off permanently?

10
Summary by 197.218.80.221
90.71.217.218 (talkcontribs)

The problem is that if you delete cookies often you will have to turn it off every time. It is even worse if you don't allow cookies, there is no way to turn it off

197.218.91.133 (talkcontribs)

Disable javascript.

90.71.217.218 (talkcontribs)

Yes, that works, but I don't think is a long term solution. right now I'm messing with some filters for adblockers. this 2 seem to do the work:

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups-containeren.wikipedia.org##[role="tooltip"]

1st one hides the pop up, and the other one hides the little arrow. what I don't know is if they affect anything else

2A02:8071:8290:7100:E23F:49FF:FE10:F621 (talkcontribs)

this destroys all pages that make responsible use of JS

CKoerner (WMF) (talkcontribs)

A fair question. If you use a content blocker in your browser of choice you can always modify your client-side CSS to hide the container for Page previews. Although, doing that will make me sad. :)

90.71.217.218 (talkcontribs)

I meant to reply here, so I'll copy paste the message. Sorry, it is my first time writting here.

90.71.217.218 (talkcontribs)

apparently copy paste doesn't work. anyway, the message is just below. can you tell me if those 2 filters are correct to block the page previews?

90.71.217.218 (talkcontribs)

Could you kindly give me a rule to block it? The problem I have is that it is distracting when you scroll down and don't mean to hover any link, or when you put your mouse over a link by mistake. I don't find it really intrusive or anything, in fact I liked it at first. but after browsing for a while it is just distracting

right now I made a couple of rules for adblock and they seem to work, but I'm not sure if I'm blocking anything else by mistake, can you tell me if they are correct?

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups-container

en.wikipedia.org##[role="tooltip"]

90.71.217.218 (talkcontribs)

After trying to write some rules to block page previews for a while, it is getting ridiculous. I must be doing something wrong because I can't get rid of the little arrow that pops up, it seems it is a different one for different kinds of links. here is the list of rules so far:

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups-container

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.mwe-popups-fade-in-up.mwe-popups-image-tri.mwe-popups-is-not-tall

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.mwe-popups-fade-in-down.flipped_y.mwe-popups-is-not-tall

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.mwe-popups-fade-in-up.mwe-popups-image-tri.mwe-popups-is-tall

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.mwe-popups-fade-in-down.flipped_x_y.mwe-popups-is-not-tall

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.flipped_x.mwe-popups-no-image-tri.mwe-popups-is-not-tall.mwe-popups-fade-out-down

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.flipped_x.mwe-popups-is-tall.mwe-popups-fade-out-down

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.mwe-popups-fade-in-up.flipped_x.mwe-popups-is-tall

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.mwe-popups-fade-in-up.flipped_x.mwe-popups-no-image-tri.mwe-popups-is-not-tall

en.wikipedia.org##.mwe-popups.mwe-popups-fade-in-up.mwe-popups-no-image-tri.mwe-popups-is-not-tall

There has to be any other way, can anyone help me to write a simple rule?

CKoerner (WMF) (talkcontribs)

.mwe-popups {

display: none !important;

}

Reply to "How can page previews be turned off permanently?"

For editors preview, add disclaimer logo and lenght of article

2
78.14.141.17 (talkcontribs)

Hi. Very good work..I think on the power previews for editors may be also useful displaying: 1) the disclaimer logo (the article is a stub, citation needed, has to be verified) 2) the total lenght of the article: how many words or how many pages.

In such way, instead of clicking on the blue link to a random article in the homepage, the editor moves from the article he is reading, to a related subject matter he is interested on.

If any people has some time and knowledge to spend on editing wikipedia, it is important to point his choice to improve an article urgently needing help.

If there too informationts to be displayed, an user may set his options for the editors preview.

CKoerner (WMF) (talkcontribs)

Heya 78.14, there's some thought happening on what other features could be added to Page Previews. I added a note of your suggestion to the task where the team is working.

https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T109796

Reply to "For editors preview, add disclaimer logo and lenght of article"
70.69.224.86 (talkcontribs)

I use a laptop. I use the two finger gesture to scroll, which leaves the actual mouse wherever it was last showing as the page scrolls beneath it. As a result, as often as not, when i scrolled a page the mouse would be activating an annoying popup when i was done.

In general, any UI where I feel like I have to play some sort of game of 'avoid the popups' while just moving the mouse around results in a terrible impression of the site. I was looking for a way to turn it off after less than a minute. Thankfully there was one.

I don't think it should be on by default, or even exist. If there were a clickable bit next to the link to open them that would be ok, and even useful, then I could click on either the link, or on the preview if i just want the preview.

But forcing me to carefully avoid leaving the mouse too close a link on articles often dense with links was just infuriating.

What possessed you to take an advertising technique (linking hover adds to keywords in content) that motivated people to adopt ad blockers and make it a part of the wikipedia user experience? I think there's even a wikipedia page about it...with some good advice:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyword_advertising

"Advertisers choosing to test this type will want to exercise moderation to increase Internet user acceptance."

Why would it say that? Because Internet user's really don't like playing 'avoid the mouseover popups', no matter what they contain.

CKoerner (WMF) (talkcontribs)

I'm a laptop user too. In fact, when I'm at my desk I too use a trackpad. I never thought of the feature in they way you describe. Thank you for the feedback. It's good to hear you found the option to opt-out. We wanted to make sure that people who didn't like the feature could choose not to use it.

As for the rest, I suggest you take a look at some of our documentation on why we perused this feature and some of our A/B and user testing results to perhaps have a better understanding. The feature has many inspirations, least of which is the oft-enabled Navigation Popups.

I won't try to sway you, but please understand this wasn't born out of ignorance or malice. :) I sincerely appreciate the feedback. I'll be sure to bring it up with the project manager next time we speak.

2601:C0:C280:34A:BCE8:410D:F030:2B0B (talkcontribs)

I also think hover-state popups are absolutely user-hostile. Was surprised, taken aback, and disappointed on the first occurrence.

2601:C0:C280:34A:BCE8:410D:F030:2B0B (talkcontribs)

I DONT WANT TO BROWSE LOGGED IN. PLEASE DON'T FORCE THIS CRAP ON ANONYMOUS USERS

Quiddity (WMF) (talkcontribs)

You don't have to log-in to turn them off. Click the "cog" icon, and you can turn off page previews, which is saved in a cookie.

2A02:8071:8290:7100:E23F:49FF:FE10:F621 (talkcontribs)

Does not work. Popups show again next time I visit Wikipedia.

Biografer (talkcontribs)

It have nothing to do with this addition. Popups were on Wikipedia since the beginning of time. Please stop whining.

120.57.23.86 (talkcontribs)

I use a touchpad and do 2 finger scroll too and the card doesn't really show up on normal scrolling but they do if I scroll super slow, maybe there should be an option to adjust the delay but I find the feature nice.

76.11.108.191 (talkcontribs)

I hate them.

I clear cookies when I quit the browser, so every time I re-open Wikipedia I have to disable the hovers.

Hateful distraction.

Pine (talkcontribs)

The choice of words in a few of the comments on this talk page comes across to me as needlessly venomous. Expressing opinions about whether this feature should be enabled by default, how to introduce the feature to logged-in and non-logged-in users, and whether the feature is a good idea in the first place are all subjects that are fair game for discussion. However, statements that go along the lines of "I hate this feature" and "this is awful" are a bit excessive. I ask that people who dislike the feature or anything about its introduction please express their views in ways that are both candid and civil. Making comments like "Please change X", "This causes problems for me", "I wish that disabling this feature was easier", "This makes my browser too slow", or "I don't understand why this feature was developed" may lead to productive conversations. I'm personally not a model of perfect civility, but please avoid going overboard with some of the choice of words here. There are more important issues to be angry about, and this feature has some valuable upsides that should also be taken into consideration before making a judgement about the value of the feature as a whole. Thank you.

83.216.88.99 (talkcontribs)

Love it!

Thank you very much.

ps: Do please ignore the mindless haters.

x

Biografer (talkcontribs)

"Mindless haters" have a reason. I don't though.

24.117.74.56 (talkcontribs)

Handy, informative, flexible feature. Well done!

Reply to "Feedback on page previews"

Rollout Update April 2018

2
Summary by CKoerner (WMF)

Feature has been deployed with community consultation.

OVasileva (WMF) (talkcontribs)

The next step of rollout for English and German Wikipedias is planned for the first half of April 2018. This deployment will include turning the feature on by default for logged-out users.  This will mean no changes for logged-in users. The feature will be off by default for logged-in editors, unless currently enabled. If you would like to enable it, it is available in your Preferences under “Appearance”. If you have the feature enabled already, it will stay on.  

In terms of future changes for logged-in users, we have a few options we have requested feedback on (English, German):

  • Keep the feature off by default for logged-in users.  
  • Turn the feature on by default for new accounts only. Currently, when users move from being readers to contributors and create an account, the feature will seem to vanish, and that would be confusing.  As a further step in the feature rollout, we plan to change this configuration and enable the feature for all new accounts.
  • Turn the feature on by default for existing logged-in users (Even if it were enabled for everyone, it would still be automatically suppressed for anyone who uses NAVPOPS.)
Alsee (talkcontribs)

Terrible feature - why? what user asked for this?

4
2601:C0:C280:34A:BCE8:410D:F030:2B0B (talkcontribs)

Hover state popups? really? This is what wikimedia considers top priority development?

2601:C0:C280:34A:BCE8:410D:F030:2B0B (talkcontribs)

Just to make it clear, this makes browsing more difficult and confusing for me, as I can't let go of the mouse without RANDOM CONTENT POPPING UP and obscuring the very page I'm viewing.

Please, please stop with this kind of non-helpful design masturbation

2601:C0:C280:34A:BCE8:410D:F030:2B0B (talkcontribs)

Every browser I use has a specific feature to open a link in a new tab. Why have you forced a re-work of that onto me? I absolutely hate it.

-- Software engineer and web designer for 20 years

TheDJ (talkcontribs)

Because it's extremely popular, judging from the responses on Twitter at least.

Alsee (talkcontribs)

I just wanted to point you to a discussion at EnWiki Village Pump: Recent_user_interface_change_discussion (permalink to likely-incomplete discussion).

I suspect(?) that they encountered the feature on a different language, and I assume they thought it would be most effective to contact us in Wikipedia's main/home language.

The key fragment is this: I just wanted to register how awful a change I think it is. I respect and commend the utility of the feature; my comments are solely about forcing it on people. Some of us specifically like the Wikipedia interface for its simplicity and lack of movement. An 80-year-old user I know specifically complains about "all that moving stuff" which prevents her using many sites.

I think it well embodies the prevailing editor view on EnWiki. The feature offers an obvious utility, but default gadgets&gizmos are awful. There's a broad view valuing a certain kind of simplicity for Wikipedia.

OVasileva (WMF) (talkcontribs)

Hey, @Alsee. Currently, the feature is deployed to all Wikipedias except for English and German. It is off by default for logged-in users and on for anonymous users. Its possible this user came from a different wiki and was logged out. Also, we’ve been running some tests on English and German wikipedias where we have been delivering the feature to a very small percentage of anonymous users as well. Each preview also has a settings option from which the feature can be disabled.

2601:C0:C280:34A:BCE8:410D:F030:2B0B (talkcontribs)

Agree. Hate it. Wrongheaded from the start.

Reply to "Reader feedback"
CKoerner (WMF) (talkcontribs)

Hello,

We wanted to take a moment to share an update on Page Previews.

Most recently we:

  • Deployed the new HTML endpoint for generating previews, leading to better rendering of preview content (math equations work, more predictable formatting of information in parentheses, etc.) (T113094)
  • Completed two A/B tests on English and German Wikipedias. The results displayed a decrease in pageviews, but an overall increase in the number of pages readers interact with, indicating that they are more likely to explore a larger variety of topics when the feature is on.  We also noted decreased usage of the back button and very low rates of disabling the feature. These experiments built on earlier qualitative and quantitive testing of the feature.

Other improvements:

  • Refactored the code (that's fancy developer-speak of restructuring the code to be more performant and stable) (T149801)
  • Made sure Page Previews do not interfere with the functionality of Navigation Popups
    • As both can not be run simultaneously, users of Nav popups will need to disable the gadget in order to try out Page Previews.
  • Reviewed feedback from readers across the web

If you haven’t already, you can enable the feature in your preferences under Appearance. Feedback on how things are working for you is welcome. The HTML endpoint change was deployed just last week and we’re very excited to see the improvements. We’re expecting some smaller bugs and edge cases, so please let us know if you notice something out of order.

2601:C0:C280:34A:BCE8:410D:F030:2B0B (talkcontribs)

How can we say no to the entire feature?

Reply to "Improvements to Page Previews"