- 连锁保护（→ 参见演示）：
?action=protect）。 在monobook皮肤界面，常用快捷键alt+=。 此操作将转到具有两个菜单和一个复选框的确认界面上。 管理员可以通过菜单选择防止「未註冊用戶」或「所有用戶」編輯頁面。 与之相似的，页面的移动也可以选择半保护（尽管这这项操作看上去是标准操作）还是全保护（系统会自动添加相同的移动和编辑的保护级别，但保护级别可以通过点选“解锁移动权限”复选框而改变）。 级联保护可以通过单独的复选框设置。 在编辑框中输入页面保护的原因并按“确认”按钮。 这项操作将被记录。
- 要取消保护页面，点击解除保护标签。 该操作将页面从上述保护解脱出来，这时两个菜单将处于可选状态。 解除保护只需选择"编辑"菜单下面的"（默认）"，并点击确认键。 当然要说出解除保护的原因。 同样此操作也将被记录。
- MediaWiki 名字空间:全保护自动应用于MediaWiki 名字空间，其中包含与默认的界面信息的差异（比如Mediawiki:Blockedtext，菜单文本，等等）。
- 编辑或查看源代码：根据用户和页面的状态，显示编辑或查看维基文本的链接。 在完全受保护的页面点击“编辑”，页面顶端将显示管理员给出的页面状态警告信息。 并且，当用户被封禁时，“查看源代码”标签将可能取代编辑标签。
- 图像: 保护图像与保护页面大致相同（见上文）。 当在图像描述页面上点击“保护”时，页面和图像都会受到保护。 图像描述页面也将受到保护，并且非管理员将无法将图像回退到为早期版本，或者上传新版本。
- Cascading protection of an important page is a crude measure, mainly for emergencies. If a template has to be protected just because it is transcluded in an important page, while it is also used elsewhere, it is better to make a copy for the transclusion in the important page, and use the other copy elsewhere. When this care is taken it makes little difference whether we use the automatic cascading protection or "manual cascading protection", i.e., protect the special copy of the template in the ordinary way. Initially, the main application of cascading protection is therefore the protection against creation, by transcluding non-existing pages on a page specially prepared for this purpose, like Meta:Protected against recreation. Protection of a non-existing page was not possible directly (an attempt would have given the message "无法在此页进行该操作。"), but as of MediaWiki 1.13 this is now possible.
- Abuse filters: Additionally, if the AbuseFilter extension has been enabled, access to or viewing certain parts of the interface as well as modification of the interface is restricted to administrators.
- which actions can be restricted via the protection interface is determined by the $wgRestrictionTypes setting.
- which permissions can be required via the protection interface is determined by the $wgRestrictionLevels setting.
Administrators can delete pages and their history, and can view and restore deleted pages and their history. They can also delete images, which can be undeleted as normal.
- To delete a page, click the delete link on the page that is to be deleted. (You may also add ?action=delete to the URL address bar). If an administrator is using the monobook skin, the shortcut alt+d can alternatively be used. This will bring up a new page asking for a confirmation that the page should be deleted, as well as an explanation of the deletion. A message should be typed into the input box to explain the deletion to other users. After the page has been deleted, it might have an existing talk page which should be deleted as well. Any links that point to the deleted page should be removed or corrected—whichever is the most appropriate action.
Pages can be undeleted for as long as they are in the archive. This archive is occasionally lost in database crashes. If a page has not been recreated since it was deleted, there will be a message on the page indicating how many deleted revisions there are. Clicking on this (or the undelete tab) will bring up a page displaying all the deleted revisions which can each be looked at separately. To undelete a page, click the restore button which appears on the confirmation page; this will restore all deleted revisions by default. Undeletion occurs as soon as the button is clicked, and will be logged just like deletions; if some revisions are not restored, the log will record how many were restored.
If a page already exists but an administrator wants to restore previous revisions, the administrator must go to the page history. There will be a link to undelete as described above.
- Delete article revisions for the first time: To delete/keep just one or more revisions from the history, delete the article normally, then begin the undeletion procedure. Before clicking the "Restore" button, check the revisions you want to restore—all others will remain deleted.
- Delete article revisions not for the first time: if the article already contains previously deleted revisions, be sure to follow Selective deletion on Wikipedia.
- Delete image revisions: To delete one version of an image, click the (del) link beside that version under the "File history" heading. The most recent version cannot be deleted without deleting all previous versions.
- Merge edit histories: the edit histories of two articles may be merged into one. To merge histories, delete the page where all the histories are supposed to be restored. Move the other page to the page just deleted, and then restore all the deleted revisions. This cannot be manually undone, and it is very difficult to split edit histories.
- Split an edit history: To split an edit history, manually delete all revisions, then restore those belonging to one article (which may be difficult to recognize). Move the undeleted page to a new title to split off those revisions. Restore the revisions belonging to the deleted page (now a redirect), then revert to a the penultimate revision (before the redirect).
Any user can revert a page by going back through the page's history. Administrators have a rollback button to expedite the process. To revert the edits of one user to the last version by the previous editor, click rollback on the page history, the user contribution list, or on the diff page. This can be used to revert edits from multiple vandalism attempts. The reversion will be marked as a minor edit and given an automatic edit summary based on the contents of Revertpage.
Sysops (and other users with right "标记回退编辑为机器人编辑") can hide edits (typically, vandalism) from the Recent Changes page. To do this, add
&bot=1 to the end of the url used to access a user's contributions. For example,
...index.php?title=Special:Contributions&target=Username&bot=1. When the rollback links on the contributions list are clicked, both the revert and the original edit that you are reverting will be hidden from the default Recentchanges display. This mechanism uses the marker originally added to keep massive bot edits from flooding recentchanges, hence the "bot". These changes will be hidden from recent changes unless you click the "bots" link to set
hidebots=0. The edits are not hidden from contribs, history, watchlist, etc. The edits remain in the database and are not removed, but they no longer flood Recentchanges. The aim of this feature is to reduce the annoyance factor of a flood vandal with relatively little effort.
- See 手册:封禁与解除封禁.
There is a simple interface (Special:Userrights) for granting a specific username 'sysop' status or (in MediaWiki 1.11) granting and revoking membership to groups with all associated user rights - a user with 'Bureaucrat' status has the rights to do to this. The initial user created by the installer should have 'Bureaucrat' rights.
Older versions of MediaWiki before 1.11 required you to manipulate the database records within MySQL in order to grant users certain rights.
Users with ordinary access, including visitors who haven't "signed in", can still do many things, including the most important: editing pages and helping with maintenance tasks. But only signed-up users can upload files or rename pages.