Topic on Talk:Content translation

Jump to navigation Jump to search

Overwriting pages when publishing from translator

4
Dafyddt (talkcontribs)

When I first started using the translator, I was aware that I couldn't publish an article with a name that clashed with an existing article. I could publish in my own namespace and then copy across, so that was fine. Last year I became aware of a few users on cy.wikipedia.org that published the same page multiple times from the translator (after making different changes). They would publish a new article, other users would come along and fix things, then the original user would publish again (with their own changes) overwriting the existing article.

So it seems that the translator tool is not warning of existing articles any more?

I have seen the issue myself this week. I prepared a translation of an article that didn't exist, which took an hour. I published it but then discovered that another user had already created the same page a few minutes before (not using the translator, they had just created a stub).

I also created an article a few weeks ago using the translator and them someone else a few hours later published their own version also from the translator, as they probably had it in progress.

Is there a way to once again warn users if they're about to overwrite an existing article? and maybe offer to save in their own namespace?

Hans Haase (talkcontribs)

Translating is offered, if the target does not exist or the is no article linked in Wikidata. You can compete it by editing in Wikipedia and copy from Your personal draft. Either wait before start and finish a translation as soon as possible. Always do not forget to request a version import to avoid any copyright issues.

Pginer-WMF (talkcontribs)

Thanks for the feedback, @Dafyddt.

Overwriting an existing article has always been possible with the tool. The tool shows warnings at different points and asks for confirmation to make sure that the user is aware. We made some initial tests and confirmed that the system is still working.

There are some valid workflows that require to overwrite the existing contents. Having said that, we plan to work on better ways to expand existing articles, reducing the need for overwriting content since that is a complex step that can create problems in some cases.

Thanks!

Tuanminh01 (talkcontribs)

You should translate it to a draft, then skilfully merge the draft into the main article.

Reply to "Overwriting pages when publishing from translator"