Manual talk:User former groups table

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to navigation Jump to search

"This is used to keep MediaWiki from automatically adding users to groups from which he has been manually removed before." When would MediaWiki automatically add a user to a group? Leucosticte (talk) 07:36, 30 September 2012 (UTC)

For example autoconfirmed group --wargo (talk) 08:53, 30 September 2012 (UTC)
This can be configured via $wgAutopromote. When these rules apply to an account, the user is added to the group "on the fly" e.g. without being added to the database. To keep MW from doing so, the former groups table exists. Think of it as a blacklist. --Bachsau (talk) 11:05, 30 September 2012 (UTC)