Topic on Help talk:Two Column Edit Conflict View

Jump to navigation Jump to search
Nenntmichruhigip (talkcontribs)

Please give some way of ignoring the conflict, i.e. replacing the article with my version anyway. (Also without JS please :-) ) This is useful for example in the case of me having already noticed and merged the conflict before saving, or having done a typo fix in a slightly different way as part of more changes. I had both of those cases just yesterday, and the prototype and screenshots suggest resolving this would be significantly harder with the new UI.

Christoph Jauera (WMDE) (talkcontribs)
Atsme (talkcontribs)

Is there a way to get it to post under the conflicted post with an ''edit conflict'' symbol? I'm using Safari, and the last time the edit conflict message appeared, I said to save to my comment, which it did, but it deleted the other comment, so that editor had to post it again. Can it just save both? Atsme (talk) 14:46, 10 June 2017 (UTC)

Christoph Jauera (WMDE) (talkcontribs)

Hey @Atsme,

the reason for getting an edit conflict page in the first place is, that the program ( in your case ) does not know what post belongs where and it cannot just solve the issue itself. So when you say "Can it just save both?" - it does not know how to do that.

But you might be right, that for specific cases the situation could be improved. That's a general issue with the auto conflict solving algorithm. A link to the diffs of the two edits would be helpful to better understand the issue.

Thanks for your feedback and best,

Christoph

Atsme (talkcontribs)

My experiences have been User TP conflicts rather than articles. Not sure if it's possible to isolate a "keep both" command only to TP? ~~~~

Nenntmichruhigip (talkcontribs)

Thanks :-)

ONUnicorn (talkcontribs)

According to the phabricator ticket, checking the box to use your version as the base version and saving should work, but when I just tried it on en-wikipedia it did not save my version.

Lea Voget (WMDE) (talkcontribs)

Hi @ONUnicorn, thanks for your feedback!

I tried to reproduce the issue, and since I failed I just want to make sure I understood everything correctly. Is this what happened:

1) You had an edit conflict

2) You saw the two coloumn edit view, and a dialogue box on top of the text editor

3) You changed the default selection, so that it said "use my version"

4) The text editor showed your version

5) You clicked on save, and nothing was saved (or a revision with no contents was saved?)

?

Best,

Lea

ONUnicorn (talkcontribs)

Hi @Lea Voget (WMDE); that's exactly what happened. I pushed the button that said "use my version" and clicked save and nothing was saved. I don't know if the text editor showed my version or not; I just assumed "use my version" would cause it to use my version.

Lea Voget (WMDE) (talkcontribs)

@ONUnicorn two more questions :) When you clicked save, what did you see? Did you see the edit conflict window again, or go back to the editing page or did you see the article, just all of your changes lost, and the conflicting version being the last entry in version history? If that is not too much, could you maybe point us to the revision that you clashed with?

Thanks again for helping us detect the problem!

Best,

Lea

ONUnicorn (talkcontribs)
Tobias Gritschacher (WMDE) (talkcontribs)

@ONUnicorn so, do I understand it correctly, the version you had a conflict with was the creation of a redirect? If that's the case, it might be the reason why it did not work properly as I don't know exactly how conflict resolution behaves in case of a redirect. Will investigate a bit more.

ONUnicorn (talkcontribs)

@Tobias Gritschacher (WMDE), yes. It was a new article and I was attempting to clean it up and wikify it, then do additional research to see if it was an appropriate article. While I was working on it another new page patroller came along and redirected it, leading to the edit conflict.

Reply to "allow ignoring the conflict"