Design Systems Team/Vue.js Developer Summit 2021

From mediawiki.org
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Overview[edit]

The Design Systems Team is planning a special Developer Summit for all Wikimedia Foundation and Wikimedia Deutschland employees involved in designing and architecting for and writing Vue.js code across our various projects. By learning from one another’s work and collaboratively brainstorming, we will arrive at a shared understanding of best practices that can guide us going forward. A preceding Design Workshop will provide an opportunity for designers across teams to resolve design system architecture questions and prepare technical requests and requirements to the Developer Summit.

When[edit]

Developer Summit: August 10th–12th, 2021 14:00-17:00 UTC

Design Workshop: August 3rd & 4th, 2021 14:00-16:50 UTC

More info on the Designer Workshop

Who[edit]

Developer Summit: Wikimedia Foundation and WMDE staff who are involved in writing Vue.js code across our projects is strongly encouraged to attend. Other staff members who are interested in front-end development and design are also welcome. Past Vue experience is not required.

RSVP[edit]

Add your name and UserID below if you would like to attend the summit.

Join the event slack channel

Vue.js Developer Summit 2021 RSVP
Name UserID
Eric Gardner egardner@wikimedia.org
Anne Tomasevich atomasevich@wikimedia.org
Roan Kattouw rkattouw@wikimedia.org
Volker E. volker.e@wikimedia.org
Trent Hand thand@wikimedia.org
Alex Hollender ahollender@wikimedia.org
Rita Ho rho@wikimedia.org
Joseph Seddon seddon@wikimedia.org
Cooltey Feng cfeng@wikimedia.org
Santhosh Thottingal sthottingal@wikimedia.org
Kevin Bazira kbazira@wikimedia.org
Nik Gkountas ngkountas@wikimedia.org
Abijeet Patro apatro@wikimedia.org
Bernard Wang bwang@wikimedia.org
Nick Ray nray@wikimedia.org
Huei Tan htan@wikimedia.org
Stephane Bisson sbisson@wikimedia.org
Eduardo Medina eamedina@wikimedia.org
Dan Andreescu dandreescu@wikimedia.org
Francisco Dans fdans@wikimedia.org
Jon Robson
Joaquin Oltra Hernandez jhernandez@wikimedia.org
Mew Ophaswongse mophaswongse@wikimedia.org
Wendy Quarshie wquarshie@wikimedia.org
Thomas Chin tchin@wikimedia.org
Lindsay Wardell lindsay@thisdot.co
Susana Cárdenas Molinar scardenasmolinar@wikimedia.org
Genoveva Galarza ggalarzaheredero@wikimedia.org
Jeena Huneidi jhuneidi@wikimedia.org
Niharika Kohli nkohli@wikimedia.org
Jean-René Branaa jbranaa@wikimedia.org
Bartosz Dziewoński
Clare Ming cming@wikimedia.org
Monte Hurd mhurd@wikimedia.org
Aisha Khatun akhatun-ctr@wikimedia.org
Razzi Abuissa rabuissa@wikimedia.org
Kara Payne kara.payne@wikimedia.de
Matthew Williams mwilliams@wikimedia.org
Adam Shorland adam.shorland@wikimedia.de
Amir Sarabadani amir.sarabadani@wikimedia.de
Dat Nguyen dat.nguyen@wikimedia.de
Guergana Tzatchkova guergana.tzatchkova@wikimedia.de
Itamar Givon itamar.givon@wikimedia.de
Jakob Warkotsch jakob.warkotsch@wikimedia.de
Leszek Manicki leszek.manicki@wikimedia.de
Conny Kawohl conny.kawohl@wikimedia.de
Lucas Werkmeister lucas.werkmeister@wikimedia.de
Michael Grosse michael.grosse@wikimedia.de
Perside Rosalie Mondjo Tchelibou perside.rosalie@wikimedia.de
Silvan Heintze silvan.heintze@wikimedia.de
Thomas Arrow thomas.arrow@wikimedia.de
Tobias Andersson tobias.andersson@wikimedia.de
Tonina Zhelyazkova tonina.zhelyazkova@wikimedia.de
Sarai Sanchez sarai.sanchez@wikimedia.de
Tsepo Thoabala tthoabala@wikimedia.org
David Chilcott drc@outformations.com
Dennis Mburugu dmburugu@wikimedia.org
Kosta Harlan kharlan@wikimedia.org
Tran tran@wikimedia.org
Svantje Lilienthal svantje.lilienthal@wikimedia.org
Dana Bredemeyer dbredemeyer@wikimedia.org

Summit Schedule[edit]

Please feel free to attend only the sessions relevant to you, although we would encourage at least one representative from each product team/organization at each session.

Vue.js Developer Summit 2021
Aug 10, 2021 Aug 11, 2021 Aug 12, 2021
Re-vue of work Key decisions part 1 Key decisions part 2
14:00 - 14:50 UTC Session 1: Introductions and summit overview

Introduce the hosts and participants, review summit goals and structure.

See T286946

Session 1: Vue major version and IE support

Discuss when and how to move to Vue 3, which is dependent on dropping IE support.

See T286948 and T286947

Session 1: Building and distributing the shared component library

Come to decisions on which build tool to use in the shared library, how to bundle and deliver the library, and tools to include like TypeScript and Storybook.

See T286950 and T286949

14:50 - 15:00 UTC Break Break Break
15:00 - 15:50 UTC Session 2: Project show and tell

Product team representatives demo their past Vue projects. Sign up for a demo slot in the table below.

Session 2: Shared component library governance

Discuss path forward to a single shared Vue component library.

See T286953

Session 2: CSS architecture

Make decisions around CSS architecture, including design token strategy and CSS preprocessor. Discuss other topics related to styles, like utility classes and style distribution and scoping.

See T286951

15:50 - 16:00 UTC Break Break Break
16:00 - 17:00 UTC Session 3: Vue retrospective

Retrospective on Vue work so far: what's gone well, what we could do differently, and what we've learned.

Session 3: Emerging topics and wrap-up

Discuss any emerging topics from earlier sessions. Note: if there's time, we may start the CSS architecture discussion to hear from WMDE, since they won't be present on day 3.

Session 3: Emerging topics and wrap-up

Discuss any emerging topics from earlier sessions, review decisions made during the summit, and review path forward for unresolved decisions and future work.

Vue project demos[edit]

For Day 1 Session 2, we encourage representatives from product teams to prepare a short explanation and demo of their past Vue projects, especially those within MediaWiki. If you'd like to present, please sign up below.

Project demos
Name Team Project
Eric Gardner Structured Data Commons MediaSearch
Francisco Dans / Dan Andreescu Data Engineering Wikimedia Statistics
Santhosh Thottingal Language Section Translation
Jakob Warkotsch Wikidata/Wikibase (WMDE) Mobile Termbox
Sarai Sanchez / Michael Große Wikidata/Wikibase (WMDE) Query Builder
Lindsay Wardell Abstract Wikipedia Wikifunctions

Documentation[edit]

Vue.js Developer Summit 2021 Documentation