Manual:Purge

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to: navigation, search

Purging forces MediaWiki to clear the cached version of a given page, forcing the page to be redisplayed from its source. It is used to ensure that recent changes are made immediately visible.

A simple way to "purge" a MediaWiki page you are viewing in your browser is:

click its "View history" tab, then in your browser's location field delete just the word "history" off the end of the URL, type "purge" there (after the "=") on the end of the URL, and hit return.


Examples[edit | edit source]

  • To purge a page, add ?action=purge to the URL of the page you are viewing. For example:
http://example.org/wiki/Main_Page?action=purge
  • If the URL has other parameters in its query string, add the purge action to the query string with an ampersand (&). For example:
http://example.org/wiki/index.php?title=Main_Page&action=purge

Note Note: Remember to change example.org in the above URLs to the host name of your MediaWiki installation.

Anonymous requests must be confirmed[edit | edit source]

Purge requests made via POST or by logged-in users are automatically filled. Anonymous users making purge requests via a query string will be presented with a confirmation form. This form must be submitted before the purge request will be completed. This behavior is a precaution to keep web spiders from accidentally purging pages when following links.

Purge and image thumbnails[edit | edit source]

If purge is run on an image description page, the cached thumbnails for the image will be purged.

Null edits[edit | edit source]

Purging will only update the rendering of the page, it won't update the link tables. These tables control lists that the page is listed in (For example, pages listed on category pages, Special:Whatlinkshere, along with several other "query" special pages). In order to force an update of the link tables, you can do what is called a null edit. Null edits is one you open a page to edit it, do not change anything (or if you do change anything, add newlines at the very end of the page), and then hit save. No entry in the page's history will appear, but all link tables should be refreshed.

An alternative way to update the links table is to use the API's purge module with the forcelinkupdate option. Note that this option only applies to the api. Adding forcelinkupdate to an index.php url has no effect.

See Also[edit | edit source]

Language: English  • 日本語 • Tiếng Việt