This describes how moderation works in Flow at time of writing the article. This may change in the future.
States & permissions[edit | edit source]
There are 4 states: (none), hidden, deleted, suppressed.
When a post is in a moderated state, it will either be not visible at all (is users have no permissions to see it), or be replaced by a "Comment <moderated> by <user>" message. Said message can be clicked to reveal the original message.
To see moderated posts, users need these permissions (based on default permission defined in Flow.php - this may be different with custom config):
- hidden: any user
- deleted: sysop (so completely hidden for non-sysops)
- suppressed: oversight (so completely hidden for non-oversighters)
Revision[edit | edit source]
Every action on a topic/post (or header) will create a new revision. Edits, moderation, ... all generate a new revision.
In Flow, it is only possible to moderate the most recent revision of a topic or post (thus creating a new revision with the new moderation status). The moderation status of this last revision, combined with the moderation status of a specific revision of a post, is what will determine if anything can be seen.
- When a post with 30 revisions (edits, anything, ...) is suppressed, none of the previous (and current) revisions will be accessible for anyone with non-suppression permissions.
- When that post is later restored (unsuppressed), all of the previous revisions are available to anyone again. The suppress + restore revisions will not be available for anyone with non-suppression permissions, though.
- Again, when suppressed, nothing at all will be visible.