Talk:Git/Reviewers

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Move page[edit]

How about moving this page to another title, such as Gerrit review subscriptions? I think that one (or something similar) would be more self-descriptive. --Waldir (talk) 07:10, 16 February 2013 (UTC)

Git/Reviewers#Listen to specific repositories[edit]

Hi. I feel the Git/Reviewers#Listen to specific repositories section should use a table. The headers approach seems a bit silly. Thoughts? --MZMcBride (talk) 03:06, 8 March 2013 (UTC)

Excellent tool[edit]

Thank you for filling a missing feature from Gerrit. [5/5] will use again. Antoine "hashar" Musso (talk) 18:24, 7 August 2014 (UTC)

Action log in reviews[edit]

thanks for this tool! I think it'd make sense to leave a comment in the review itself whenever reviewers are added so it is obvious it was automatic and not human action. (incidentally it can increase bot usage too!) --Filippo Giunchedi (talk) 14:37, 9 August 2014 (UTC)

I think a comment each time that happens would be clutter, especially since the email sent to everyone involved already states that it's from reviewer-bot. Jackmcbarn (talk) 16:32, 9 August 2014 (UTC)

Replace with "reviewers" plugin?[edit]

I think this functionality can be almost completely taken over by this plugin. I'm thinking (hoping) it avoids sending the spam from the reviewer being added automatically (and helps you differentiate when it was someone by hand, per the above section). Thoughts? FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY [u+1F602] 08:45, 7 February 2018 (UTC)

If it doesn't send me an email when the automatic thing adds me, I wouldn't find it very useful. OTOH, I'd be happy to not see email when it automatically adds someone else to a change I'm already watching. Anomie (talk) 14:20, 7 February 2018 (UTC)
I find the e-mails on the change I just submitted to super obnoxious. I don't see why it wouldn't send *you* an e-mail when the new change is submitted...that's kinda the point. We can test it out though, there's no reason the two tools can't coexist. FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY [u+1F602] 17:19, 7 February 2018 (UTC)
I suppose it could be replaced (at least for the specific repository watches). The documentation at https://gerrit.googlesource.com/plugins/reviewers/+doc/master/src/main/resources/Documentation/config.md is a bit sparse, though, and it's not entirely clear to me whether it can provide a good and user friendly alternative to the repository group subscriptions. At the same time, I think it makes sense to try to move to an officially supported solution -- after all, the reviewer bot is yet another bit of infrastructure that needs maintenance (although it hasn't needed any in the last 14 months!). If you are interested in pushing the conversion, it would be good to a) figure out whether the plugin is installed, and if not, what the process for that is, b) how the current set of reviewer registrations can be converted, and c) how the people who currently use group subscriptions can have a somewhat comparable workflow. Valhallasw (talk) 21:04, 7 February 2018 (UTC)
The answer to (A) is "not yet, but I built it this morning and we can get it installed asap" (B) It would involve making changes to each affected repo's refs/meta/config branch. The majority of the cases (watch everything in the repo) could probably be automatically done with a short bit of scripting. (C) Repositories generally inherit permissions, so we could apply most of those. For those repos that don't, shouldn't be hard to deal with any stragglers.
As I said above, the plugin existing and doing stuff doesn't keep the bot from working...so we could start small to test it out and ramp up if the workflow seems to be ok to everyone. I think we're on the same page? I'll get it installed today and we can play with it next week :) FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY [u+1F602] 16:24, 9 February 2018 (UTC)