Manual:$wgSaveDeletedFiles

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to: navigation, search

Other languages:
English • ‎français • ‎日本語 • ‎polski
Uploads: $wgSaveDeletedFiles
Indicates that deleted images are to be stored for later undeletion.
Introduced in version: 1.7.0 (r14777)
Removed in version: 1.11.0
Allowed values: boolean
Default value: false
Other settings: Alphabetical | By function

Details[edit]

This setting specifies that files that are deleted via the wiki interface should not be physically removed from the disk, but instead moved out of the way and marked as 'deleted' in the database (in the same way wiki pages are).

MediaWiki 1.11.0 and above[edit]

This setting was removed in MediaWiki 1.11.0 as the option is now enabled unconditionally.

Earlier versions[edit]

Prior to MediaWiki 1.11.0, deleted files were simply discarded by default. To save them and make it possible to undelete images:

  1. create a directory which is writable to the web server, but not exposed to the Internet
  2. Set $wgSaveDeletedFiles to true
  3. Set up the save path in $wgFileStoreManual:$wgFileStore['deleted']['directory']

Examples[edit]

Here are the default settings, which disable all support for undeletion:

$wgSaveDeletedFiles = false;
$wgFileStore['deleted']['directory'] = null;

Here are the modified settings, which store all deleted images in /var/wiki/private/deleted:

$wgSaveDeletedFiles = true;
$wgFileStore['deleted']['directory'] = "/var/wiki/private/deleted";