Manual:$wgRevokePermissions

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to: navigation, search

Other languages:
العربية • ‎Deutsch • ‎English • ‎español • ‎français • ‎italiano • ‎日本語 • ‎polski • ‎português • ‎português do Brasil • ‎русский • ‎中文
User Access: $wgRevokePermissions
Permission keys revoked from users in each group.
Introduced in version: 1.16.0 (r52083)
Removed in version: still in use
Allowed values: Complex array of boolean values.
Default value: array()
Other settings: Alphabetical | By function

Details[edit]

$wgGroupPermissions allows setting permissions for user groups. $wgRevokePermissions allows revocation of any of those permissions. Revoking a right with $wgRevokePermissions takes precedence over granting it with $wgGroupPermissions. If the right is revoked for even one of the user's groups, they will not have it, regardless of whether it's explicitly permitted by other groups.

Example
$wgRevokePermissions['sysop']['editinterface'] = true;
Result is (when viewing Special:ListGroupRights)
  • Edit the user interface (editinterface)

This acts the same way as $wgGroupPermissions, except that if the user is in a group here, the permission will be removed rather than added. A good use-case for this setting is in conjunction with $wgAutopromote and APCOND_BLOCKED to further restrict the rights of blocked users. Another use-case could be the creation of other "blocked groups" where a sysop can (via $wgAddGroups) add a user to a group to allow them to edit pages normally, but prevent them from being able to move pages.

Warning Warning: Improperly setting this could mean that your users will be unable to perform certain essential tasks, so use at your own risk!