Code Review/Office Hours

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Code review office hours are regularly scheduled twice weekly events which take place on IRC. The purpose is primarily to have an agreed time for contributors to seek feedback or request to have their patches merged. The code review hours will usually be attended by core MediaWiki developers who have the ability to approve and merge patches in gerrit.

If you have a patch that needs code review or want to review code of other people, please consider joining the #wikimedia-codereview connect IRC channel and subscribing to the events in phabricator you find below. Contributors who want a patch reviewed are asked to add a link to their patch in the comments of the appropriate event though this is not mandatory. Follow one of the links below, depending on the day of week you want to join office hours, and go to the current ocurrence of the task. Please do not post in the linked task directly as this is an old occurrence of the event.

Schedule[edit]

Every Wednesday from 13:00 to 14:00 UTC (that is 05:00 to 06:00 PST, 6:00 AM to 7:00 AM PDT), Wednesdays phabricator event
Every Thursday from 20:00 to 21:00 UTC (that is 12:00 to 13:00 PST, 13:00 to 14:00 PDT), Thursdays phabricator event

History[edit]

Task T128371 is the discussion that lead to the introduction of office hours for code review. After this discussion Phabricator event E179 was created, which is the event of the first office hour and it's recurrences on Thursdays until 8 December 2016. Task T136370 discussed the introduction of a second time slot mainly for non American people which was created afterwards as the Wednesday office hour mentioned above.