Architecture committee/2017-03-22

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to navigation Jump to search

An invite-only video discussion, where decisions are often finalized, generally Wednesday 13:00 USA West coast local time as of this writing. This meeting is often used for grooming the backlog for the TechCom-RFC board. (private minutes)

Present: Daniel (chair), Gabriel, Kevin (notes), Tim, Timo

Recent activity:

Past session on mobileFrontend requirements:

  • Detailed note at <https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Reading/Web/Projects/OCCAM/ArchCom-03-15-2017>.
  • We had a presentation and Q/A session on hangout, with notes taken on IRC, and some questions taken from IRC. We failed to get the youtube stream working, but we did not max out hangout.
  • Using a video conference for a high level overview session seems moderately successful, with room for improvement on the details. ArchCom will consider this mode for some future public meetings. We may try a different video conference service next time. Has anyone tried Spreed <https://www.spreed.me/>? We could even host it, see <https://nextcloud.com/webrtc/>.

Upcoming RFC discussion, March 29:

  • “Canonical data URIs and URLs for machine readable page content” <https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T161527>.
  • The discussion will take place in the IRC channel #mediawiki-office on Wednesday 21:00 UTC (2pm PDT, 23:00 CEST).