Help:Sysop deleting and undeleting/th
|Note: When you edit this page, you agree to release your contribution under the CC0. See Public Domain Help Pages for more info.
Normal users cannot permanently delete a wiki page. This is a deliberate design feature, and is an important part of why wikis work. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting deleted content. It doesn't cause significant wasted space; and with nothing but a 'delete' label, the page is effectively deleted anyway.
Deleting a page is, on the other hand, a straightforward operation for anyone with sysop permissions: it allows to semi-permanently remove a page from the wiki, until a sysop undeletes (restores) it with the same ease. Typically sysops might look for delete labels, and do a proper delete on these pages, after a period of time. If for some reason you need a page to be deleted more quickly than that, you will need to contact a sysop to request this.
Revision deletion offers a more granular feature of deletion for edits with peculiar problems.
Before deleting[edit | edit source]
Sysops should also be aware of the general advice given on When not to delete a page: in particular, there are many situations where a deletion is too drastic. For example, a redirect is often more appropriate.
Before deleting you could perform various checks:
- Use the "What links here" tool. This gives an indication as to how important a page is, and what subjects it relates to. Perhaps the page is still linked to prominently from many places. All incoming links will become red links if you proceed with the delete. Ideally all incoming links should be changed/removed, if there is genuinely no need for this page to exist. You could do this work prior to deleting, or ask others in the wiki community to do it.
- Check the page history and the associated talk page. Who was proposing the deletion? Does anyone disagree? Has it been properly discussed? Did people have adequate time to raise objections? Did somebody vandalize a page, which then led to a deletion proposal?
The care taken over these things might depend on the size of the wiki community, and how clear-cut the case for deletion is. Remember that only sysop users can undo a delete action, so to a normal user the information appears to be lost forever.
Use the 'delete' action[edit | edit source]
Sysops should see a 'delete' tab or action menu option at the top of every page. To find the action menu, look for a down arrow or triangle next to the "View History" tab. If you mouse over the triangle you should see "delete", "move", "protect" and "watch". Click the delete action to delete the page. When using browsers which support keyboard shortcuts, you can also use (Control-Alt-D). You will be asked to confirm, and to supply a "Reason for deletion". This is a short textual description of why the page is being deleted. Your action will appear on the recent changes display, and in the deletion log (Special:Log).
Remember only the administrator can delete uploaded photograph files.
Undeleting[edit | edit source]
To undelete a page you must navigate to the exact page name of the page. You can find this in the deletion log (Special:Log) if you don't remember it.
You should then see a link to "View or restore n deleted edits". Tick the box next to the revision you wish to restore.
Configuring deletion reasons[edit | edit source]
The list of reasons in the dropdown box is maintained at MediaWiki:Deletereason-dropdown.
When not to delete a page[edit | edit source]
ปกติแล้วหน้าวิกิจะถูกลบ เมื่อหน้านั้นมีเนื้อหานั้นที่ไม่เหมาะสม และ ผิดวัตถุประสงค์ของวิกินั้นๆ จริงๆ. ถ้าเป็นในกรณีอื่นๆ นอกเหนือจากนี้แล้ว, คุณน่าจะมุ่งเน้นไปที่การใช้วิธีอื่นๆ ที่นุ่มนวลกว่า, ตัวอย่างเช่น...
- The page should have a different title. See Help:Moving a page.
- The contents should have been placed on a different page -- Add the contents to the other page, and then supply a redirect. See Help:Redirects.
- The contents are already on a different page -- Delete the duplicate content and leave a redirect. That way, the page title, which made sense to somebody, will helpfully redirect to the information. See Help:Redirects.
- ข้อมูลหรือเนื้อหาในหน้านั้นล้าสมัยไปแล้ว - ให้ปรับแก้เนื้อหาให้เป็นปัจจุบันมากขึ้น! ถ้าเดิมหน้านั้นต้องการอธิบายเหตุการณ์ปัจจุบันหรืออนาคต, ที่ได้ผ่านพ้นไปแล้ว, ให้เปลี่ยนคำพูดในประโยคให้บ่งบอกถึงเหตุการณ์ในอดีต, ด้วยวิธีนี้หน้านั้นจะกลายเป็นบันทึกทางประวัติศาสตร์แทน. หรือไม่ก็ติดป้ายแจ้งเตือนว่าข้อมูลหรือเนื้อหาในหน้านี้ล้าสมัยแล้ว.
An actual delete is generally necessary only if the title of the page is inappropriate. In other situations, a merge and redirect is more appropriate.
Proposing changes[edit | edit source]
Deciding on appropriate content/page titles can be a difficult aspect of Wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the merge or deletion you have in mind is one which might cause upset, you should propose the change first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labeling the page with a delete/merge proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.
[edit | edit source]
The 'What links here' toolbox feature (bottom of left sidebar) will tell you which other Wiki pages link to the current page. Always use this feature to check before proceeding with deleting. These related pages will need to be edited for their links to reflect the change.