Extension:UserMerge

From MediaWiki.org
Jump to: navigation, search
MediaWiki extensions manual
Crystal Clear action run.png
UserMerge

Release status: stable

Implementation Special page, User identity
Description Merges references from one user to another user in the Wiki database - can also delete old users following merge
Author(s) Tim Laqua, Thomas Gries (maintainer)
Latest version 1.9.0 (2014-03-29)
MediaWiki 1.13+
PHP 5.3+
Database changes No
License GNU GPL, version 2 or later
Download
Parameters
  • $wgUserMergeProtectedGroups
  • $wgUserMergeUnmergeable
Added rights

usermerge

Translate the UserMerge extension if it is available at translatewiki.net

Check usage and version matrix; code metrics
Bugs: list open list all report

The UserMerge extension allows wiki users with the usermerge permission (Bureaucrat by default) to merge one Wiki user's account with another Wiki user's account.

The extension allows to

  • merge (refer contributions, texts, watchlists, edit count of a first account A to a second account B
  • delete the first account A after the merge (option box)

Limitations

  • you cannot delete a user A without having merged the user A to B
  • you cannot merge your own account (logged-in user)

Extras

  • if you omit the "New User" field, then the extension auto-populates the New User as "Anonymous" (user_id 0), and ask you to confirm a merge to Anonymous. This is used for user deletion: you first empty (merge to user 0) contributions of a user A, and then delete the user A.
  • the extension creates a User Merge log and logs all User Merge extension activity.[1]

Installation[edit | edit source]

  • Download and extract the file(s) in a directory called UserMerge in your extensions/ folder. If you're a developer and this extension is in a Git repository, then instead you should clone the repository using:
git clone https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/p/mediawiki/extensions/UserMerge.git
  • Add the following code at the bottom of your LocalSettings.php:
require_once "$IP/extensions/UserMerge/UserMerge.php";
// By default nobody can use this function, enable for bureaucrat?
$wgGroupPermissions['bureaucrat']['usermerge'] = true;
 
// optional: default is array( 'sysop' )
$wgUserMergeProtectedGroups = array( 'groupname' );
  • Done! Navigate to "Special:Version" on your wiki to verify that the extension is successfully installed.
The change to group-based merge protection ($wgUserMergeProtectedGroups) in v1.5, r30872.
The addition of the 'usermerge' permission in 1.2 - this must be explicitly granted as shown above.

Usage[edit | edit source]

  • follow Installation Instructions
  • a new Special Page Special:UserMerge with the title Merge and Delete Users is created
  • unmergeable users can be defined (examples):
# Allow all users to be merged (by default, the 'sysop' group is unmergeable)
$wgUserMergeProtectedGroups = array();
 
# Disallow merging of the users in the 'sysop' or 'awesomeusers' groups
# N.B. check the distributed "install.settings" for the correct array name
$wgUserMergeUnmergeable = array( 'sysop', 'awesomeusers' );


Known issues[edit | edit source]

  • Bug 39470: It's not possible to merge the account of a blocked user
  • Bug 39636: The extension lacks an API interface module

References[edit | edit source]

  1. since version 1.2

See also[edit | edit source]


Language: English  • português do Brasil